Teeth Whitening

Whitening products are priced by kit, not by treatment, and the treatment counts run from 1 to 21. A $45 kit at 21 treatments and a $17 kit at 3 are not the same purchase. Work out the per-treatment figure before comparing anything on this page.

48 products · page 1 of 2

Treatment Count and Price per Treatment

Kit prices here run $13.99 to $72.94 with a median of $26.91, and the treatment counts behind those prices run 1 to 21. Two kits at the same shelf price can differ sevenfold in what you actually receive.

Divide before you compare.

The Colgate Optic White Overnight pen carries 21 treatments while several strip kits carry 3. Nothing on the front of pack makes the per-treatment figure easy to see, and it is the only number on this page that supports a comparison between formats.

Strips, Pens, Gels and Powders

Four formats are stocked and they differ in wear time rather than in kind. Strips sit on the teeth for a set period per treatment. Pens are painted on and left. Gels are used with a tray or a brush, and powders are used like a paste.

Pens carry the smallest volumes on the page at around 0.08 oz, which is why they read cheap on the shelf and run out fastest. That is the format most often re-bought sooner than the buyer expected.

Peroxide and Peroxide-Free Formulations

Peroxide-free products are a separate formulation class rather than a milder version of the same thing. Lumineux is the clearest example here, sold explicitly as enamel-safe and peroxide-free across a 14-pack.

The two classes are not tiers.

Buyers choose between them for different reasons, so read which class a kit belongs to before comparing its treatment count to anything else on the page.

Colour-Correcting Serums

Colour correctors are the newest format here and work optically rather than chemically. Hismile's V34 purple serum is the example stocked.

These do not carry treatment counts that compare to strips. They sit on this page because that is where buyers look for them. Nothing about them is interchangeable with the rest of the range.

Whitening Kits and Whitening Toothpaste

Whitening paste is a different collection and a different purchase. 75 listings on the toothpaste page carry a whitening line, including the 11 charcoal formulations, and those get bought as a standing item rather than as a course with a start and an end.

A kit runs out; a tube gets replaced.

Buyers who want the result without the schedule end up on the paste page, and the whitening-labelled brush heads sit a collection further along.

Whitening Formats Compared

FormatPrice bandTreatments per kitVolume
Strips$17 to $603 to 19Per-strip, not stated
Pens$14 to $307 to 21About 0.08 oz
Gels and trays$25 to $731 to 18Varies by kit
Powders$14 to $28Not statedJar
Colour correctors$16 to $30Not applicableTube or bottle

Treatment counts come from the listing titles where stated. Where a kit does not state one, treat the comparison as unavailable rather than assuming the format average.

Teeth Whitening Questions

Why do two kits at the same price differ so much?

Treatment counts run 1 to 21 across this page. Price is per kit rather than per treatment, so the same shelf price can represent sevenfold different quantities.

What is a colour corrector?

A serum that works optically rather than chemically, such as Hismile's V34 purple serum. It does not carry a treatment count comparable to a strip kit.

Is peroxide-free a weaker version?

It is a separate formulation class rather than a tier. Lumineux is the peroxide-free line stocked here, sold across a 14-pack.

Which format runs out fastest?

Pens. They carry around 0.08 oz, the smallest volume on the page, which is why they look inexpensive and get re-bought soonest.

Does whitening toothpaste belong here?

No, it is stocked with the other 196 pastes. 75 of those carry a whitening line, and they are bought as a standing item rather than as a course.